Game-toberfest! What are you picking up?

So many October games, such little time!  With Fall now in full swing, Publishers are starting to release their fall lineup of games.  October is pretty damn stacked.  Here is a list of some of the ones that I find notable:

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow

Enslaved: Odyssey to the West

NBA 2K11

Kirby’s Epic Yarn

Fallout: New Vegas

Fable III

Vanquish

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II

NBA Jam

So which one of these will you be buying/renting?  Here is my list:

I love me some third person action games, so this one looked right up my alley.  Not only that, but seeing as I’ve never been a huge Castlevania guy, I figured a reboot of the series is a great place to start.  I’ve got this one pre-ordered.

I really enjoyed Heavenly Sword, so I’ve been waiting to see what Ninja Theory was going to make next.  Although I’d love to support them, I’ll be renting this game instead of buying.  An 8-10 hour experience is nice, but if I do buy a third game this month It’ll be…

This game is looking like it’s going to be the best of the series yet.  Can’t wait to play through the Jordan stuff.  Remember that “3rd  game” comment?  The second game I’ll probably be picking up this month (contingent on how bad my wallet is hurting) will be…

I really enjoyed the first game of this series despite its flaws so I’m curious to see how much more improved this will be seeing as Lucasarts had a full 2 year development cycle on the game.  Let’s hope it turns out as good as I’m anticipating.

5 Responses to Game-toberfest! What are you picking up?

  1. Skinkybob says:

    I’m buying none of them.

  2. Marc says:

    I love Castlevania — in fact, it’s probably my favorite video game series. I’ve never had good experiences with the 3D games though, so naturally I’m kind of wary of this one. But I’m looking forward to hearing what you think about it, and possibly getting it if it turns out to be worthwhile!

  3. John Nieves says:

    I went with Castlevania instead of Enslaved because I heard Castlevania was 20 hours long whereas Enslaved was only 8-10. Gotta get more bang for my buck!

    I’ll definitely be writing up some impressions and possibly a review once I beat it. Initial consensus is good though, I haven’t ready anything specific, but the Metacritic score for it is in the mid 80’s which is promising.

  4. AJ says:

    Comic Jumper and Rock Band 3 for me. Likely another XBLA game as well to get the 800 pts back. Perhaps Deathspank or its sequel.

  5. Tony says:

    Definelty getting NBA 2K11. The demo looked amazing. Plus it features his Airness.

Leave a Reply

