The 10 Minute Review: One Prime Down, Two To Go

So I beat Metroid Prime Yesterday.  I had originally bought the game when it came out years ago on the Game Cube.  Although I really enjoyed the game for its feeling of isolation and ambiance, I only played it for a few hours before I forgot about it.  I was a bit turned off by the awkward controls and lack of a strafing option.

Apparently Nintendo heard my complaints and released Metroid Prime Trilogy.  MPT contains all three games in the “Prime” series and reworked the controls of Metroid Prime 1 and Metroid Prime 2: Echoes to take advantage of the Wii Remote Ala Metroid Prime 3: Corruption for the Wii.  With so many complaints of games shoehorning in Wii Remote controls into games, MPT is the exception to the rule.

The controls work great for the original game and although it does make the game a little easier because of it, it’s a welcome addition.  Progressive Scan, true widescreen support, and a ton of extras round out the new features.

As for the game itself, I had a lot of fun with it.  Admittedly, collecting all of the artifacts got really tedious towards the end, and so did the enemies respawning when you left a room, but it was still a great game.  You can see where Metroid Prime was an inspiration to games such as Bioshock (using methods other than cutscenes to tell backstory. Ex. audio diaries in Bioshock compared to scanning in Metroid Prime), Batman: Arkham Asylum (level structure and feeling of isolation), and Dead Space ( a little of both).

The story was pretty weak seeing as there barely was one, but what was there was pretty good.  Metroid has never been the type of game you play for the story anyway, so I suppose no harm no foul.

In case you were wondering, yes…I was scratching my Metroid itch playing Prime in preperation for the release of Metroid: Other M.  I suppose I wanted some perspective before I played that game.  I’m sure I’ll be posting Metroid: Other M impressions come Tuesday.

2 Responses to The 10 Minute Review: One Prime Down, Two To Go

  1. Fausto says:

    I absolutely love your blog.. Very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m trying to create my own blog and would love to learn where you got this from or exactly what the theme is named. Kudos!

  2. John Nieves says:

    Sorry for the SUPER late reply. I’ve been so busy I haven’t had a chance to keep up with my blog. 😦

    I use all the tools that are available through WordPress to make this. Wasn’t too hard at all!

Leave a Reply

