TPB Talkback: Kraven’s Last Hunt

Thank god I don’t write for a living.

Why, you ask?  The reasoning is quite simple, when I love something I can gush about it without losing any credibility!

Kraven’s Last Hunt is one of my favorite Spider-Man stories of all time.   I read it recently in order to get in the mood of Amazing Spider-Man’s new story arc, “Grim Hunt” and it was just as entertaining as it was the first time I read it.

First off, the art is amazing.  I’m honestly not sure how recognizable of a name Mike Zeck is, but he’s one of my all-time favorite Spider-Man artists.  Spider-Man is well known for being up beat and humorous but Zeck sets up a very dark and moody story while somehow keeping the Spider-Man feel intact.  His story telling is somber, cinematic, and dark without overwhelming you.

The writing can be easily dismissed as simplistic if you are looking at it on the surface, but there’s so much subtext to read into.  Mike Zeck’s pencils tell just as much of a story as Dematteis’ words, so much so that it’s hard to tell which form is complementing which.  I really don’t want to give away much of the story for those of you who haven’t read it, but the title pretty much says it all.  This story turned Kraven from a hokey comic book villain from the 60’s to the bad ass hunter he always should have been.  The way Dematteis conveys Kraven’s insanity and obsession towards Spider-Man is great, and really prepares you for the chilling end.

“Grim Hunt” is finally calling back to this classic series.  For those of you who are reading “Grim Hunt” without reading KLH first, stop what you are doing and read this classic Spider-Man story.  You won’t be sorry.

3 Responses to TPB Talkback: Kraven’s Last Hunt

  1. Stanley says:

    I always spent my half an hour to read this blog’s articles or reviews daily along with a cup of coffee.

  2. Faustino says:

    I don’t know if it’s just me or if everyone else encountering issues with your website. It looks like some of the written text within your content are running off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This may be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen before. Many thanks

  3. John Nieves says:

    Sorry for the super late reply, haven’t been keeping up with my blog lately. 😦 I haven’t any issues like the one you mentioned, but I’ll keep an eye out for it just in case. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

