Comic Book Roundup, Siege Edition part Deux! *** Spoiler Alert ***

Yes this is a long time coming, couple odd circumstances with little time to read and that would explain the long gap between updates.  Sorry folks!  I figured it’s been long enough that I should just make this a new post instead of adding to the old one.

Siege #3: …and Osborn gets clocked in the head with Caps shield.  Awesome moment to be sure, but the question we all want answered is what’s going to happen with the Sentry.  Last time we saw him, he ripped Ares in half and was on his way to becoming full on evil.

Thor decides to give Sentry his best shot and is surprised by how well he takes it while Speed has a package to deliver to a recently reawakened Tony Stark.  Meanwhile the government issued an order to take down H.A.M.M.E.R’s base of operations while Steve Rogers and Osborn duke it out at ground level.  Kind of funny just how quickly the government is ready to turn on Osborn, someone who arguably shouldn’t have been in charge in the first place.  But oh well, that argument is soooo two years ago.  Now that I’ve setup all of the plot points of this issue, let’s break them down.

First of all Sentry vs. Thor.  I still think that considering The Sentry was really brought to the forefront in the pages of New Avengers, Bendis has done a terrible job of keeping him in the forefront on the pages of that very series.  At this point of the character’s life, he’s simply become a vehicle for the kind of destruction that would raise the stakes with everyone involved.  It’s really a shame to see a character that could have had really interesting character development be relegated to “monster super heroes must stop”.  During Thor and Sentry’s battle, a desparate Osborn orders him to stop the heroes by any measures necessary, which apparently involve bringing down all of Asgard in one fell swoop.

Meanwhile, Osborn is falling apart at the seams.  Tony Stark (in a suit of armor brought to him by Speed) does what you would probably expect him to do, he shuts down Osborn’s Iron Patriot armor and everyone else gets to see what we already knew…just how bad of a turn Osborn was taking towards Green Goblin status.  I thought it was apropos to have Spidey finally shut him the hell up with one good right cross to the jaw and what once brought Osborn to power (the media) has also ruined him considering that his fall from grace was televised for all of the world to see.  Osborn tries to explain that he was really saving everyone by keeping The Sentry in check.  We then see a completely voided out Sentry looking to kill everyone.

This is where I have a problem with where this story is headed, it’ll either be very cool or very lame with little left in between.  It’ll either become a brainless slug fest with The Void or a powerful and emotional introspective on just how fragile The Sentry’s mental status was.  Something tells me they aren’t going to go with the brainy choice.

Siege #4: Here we are with the conclusion of this arc and perhaps the end of an era in the Marvel U.  You can pretty much sum this issue up in a few sentences.  Sentry turns into void, kills Loki so in return Iron Man drops H.A.M.M.E.R. HQ on him.  That doesn’t kill him however, it only makes him Robert Reynolds for just a few seconds.  He pleads to everyone to kill him to which everyone refuses.  Robert then turns back into The Void so Thor drops a huge lightning bolt onto him and fries him to the bone.  Sounds kind of “meh” doesn’t it?  Well it reads just like that as well.  The conclusion and death of The Senry rings hollow and you aren’t left with any answers.  It just felt like a character with potential squandered, relegated to mortar status so that the Marvel Universe can once again go back to status quo.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m very glad to see the Marvel Universe go back to the way it used to be.  I’ve actually enjoyed what Civil War brought to the Marvel universe and even if the stories weren’t told exactly how I would have liked them to be told, it’s still been a different Marvel Universe the last few years.   Still, I can’t help but think that some things could have been done better to make this issue more powerful.  The Sentry simply wasn’t given his due.  When you see Robert Reynolds pleading to everyone to kill him, that should have been a gut wrenching moment for the reader, and not nearly as gut wrenching as when Thor finally ends up killing him.  Instead you don’t really care because in the end The Sentry was just one of  Osborn’s lackeys that let their power get the best of them.  Pretty lame send of for a character that’s been groomed for the last 6 or 7 years, in my opinion.

The rest of the issue is one big group hug of “We’re back, bitches!”, very cool and momentous indeed, I just wish the means to the end was handled a bit better.

With that said, there are exciting times headed for the Marvel Universe and I’m looking forward to seeing where everyone will end up now that it seems like a new (old?) era of the Marvel Universe is here.

4 Responses to Comic Book Roundup, Siege Edition part Deux! *** Spoiler Alert ***

  1. Marc says:

    Glad you’re back…I’m no closer to being caught up enough to read Siege now than I was when you posted Part 1, so the “lateness” of this post doesn’t bother me one bit!

    That’s disappointing about Sentry. Like you said, he had such potential — couldn’t they have picked someone whose potential was all used up to fill their mandatory martyr quota? Maybe not, since it seems the only reason he was even brought back after that initial miniseries was to be a Superman-type character whose power levels would facilitate the kind of hopeless situations that these events always end up requiring in the first place.

    Oh well, I guess the Marvel Universe is a better place for all of this (hopefully). I read the first issue of Avengers and I like the direction everything seems to be headed. Guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

    By the way, are you haunting any non-IGN comics forums these days? You’re always welcome to post at my blog, and I’m sure at the blogs of the people “following” me (there’s a pretty good stable of people who comment regularly, none of them from IGN). Hope you’re doing well, and I’m looking forward to seeing more of your thoughts on comics, video games, or whatever.

  2. John Nieves says:

    Thanks for the kind words, Dief. 🙂

    I’m really looking forward to reading what they have in store for the Marvel Universe. I have Avengers, New Avengers, and Secret Avengers #1 staring at me, I can’t wait to check them out.

    As far as non-IGN forums, I was actually looking for a new home so to speak. I most definitely need to post in your blog more often and will make an effort to do so. I’ll also check out who else is posting on your blog, seems like you get quite a bit of traffic, congrats!

    I’ve realized that I need to force myself to sit down and do some reading. It’s so easy to just forget and find other things to do, and then once I finally sit down to read, I regret waiting so long to do so. Whether I agree or disagree with your opinions, your opinions I most definitely respect. Good to hear from you.

  3. Marc says:

    I know what you mean, it can be really hard to find the time to do much reading when you’re busy with other things…especially for someone like you who has a family. And sometimes you have the time, but just don’t realize it. Sometimes I’ll realize I’ve been on the computer for an hour doing nothing when I could have been reading that entire time, lol.

    Yeah I do okay with my blog, but I’m always trying to reach out and figure out ways to get more people reading it. I enjoy it a lot though, and keeping things on a once-weekly schedule has been really helpful so far.

    Oh, and here’s one non-IGN forum you might like: http://www.tradereadingorder.com/forum

    It was just started a few weeks ago by Ian from the website Trade Reading Order, where he’s trying to create a chronological database for every collected edition ever published. Pretty bold, I know, but he’s doing a good job so far…he’s gotten most of DC finished. There’s not really a big forum community there yet (maybe five regular contributors so far) but I think it could grow into something bigger one day, once the reading orders are complete and more people have noticed the site.

  4. John Nieves says:

    I’ll do that too. It’s something I need to make time for, especially since I enjoy it so much.

    This website is great! I can’t wait until he’s done with Marvel stuff. 🙂 I’ve already used to and realized that I had the wrong Green Lantern books ordered. Canceled my order and ordered the ones that come first chronologically. 🙂

    Also, I signed up and will give the forums a shot. Since I don’t post on the CGB anymore, I sort of have to find somewhere else to talk about comics. LOL

Leave a Reply

