Hang in there, Gatchaman…

Damn you Tatsunoko vs. Capcom, damn you to hell.  Playing it made me remember just how much I loved G-Force as a kid.  In the U.S., Gatchaman was called Battle of the Planets and later in the mid eighties (when I watched it), it was called G-Force.  I went Gatchaman crazy and bought the first few collections of this anime series on DVD. Luckily I found a place that sells them on the cheap, even though they are out of print.

Come to find out, the US versions of these were modified significantly with scripts changing, violent bits getting cut, and a talking robot added to be more like Star Wars. Luckily, the collections I’m getting were re-dubbed and uncut I guess you don’t notice those kind of things when you young. tongue

For some reason, Collection 6 and 7 of these boxed sets are incredibly hard to find for some reason.  They do have them on the Amazon Marketplace, but they are $100.  If anyone knows where I could find these sets PLEASE let me know, I’d appreciate it!

Anyway, now I’m watching the series with my 7 year old son and he loves it so far! It holds up very well, especially considering that this show is from the early 70’s.  Can’t wait to watch more!

2 Responses to Hang in there, Gatchaman…

  1. Billy says:

    I too am a big fan of this series. Have you ever been able to get Gatchaman 2 and F on dvd?
    I have not been able to get these. I would like to add these to my collection.

  2. John Nieves says:

    They never released either series in the US. 😦

    You can get the japanese discs on ebay if you wish, but I don’t know if they play on our DVD players.

    Your best bet is to get this series called Eagle Riders. It’s Gatchaman 2 and F renamed. It primarily came out in Europe (they only showed like 5 episodes in the US) and it consists of most of Gatchaman 2 (with slight edits) and like 10 episodes of Gatchaman F.

    Now it never caught on here and hasn’t officially been collected, you can only get this via copied. Here’s a link to a place where I got my set:

    http://www.ioffer.com/si/eagle%20riders

    I got the second on on that page and the discs worked great. I haven’t seen the episodes yet though because I’m still going through the original show.

    It’s as close as we can get to Gatchaman 2 and F, unfortunately. I figure its better than nothing. Hope that helped!

Leave a Reply

