The 5 minute review: Let The Right One In (Bluray)

More like let the wrong one into my PS3.

I’m surprised how little I cared for this movie given all of the praise it’s gotten.  I’m not a big vampire movie fan, but that’s not the problem I had with this movie, for me it was the pacing.  The movie moved so incredibly slow and was so incredibly ambiguous that it left me wondering what the hell the point was.  I’m usually all for less is more (it’s one of the reasons why I love the games ICO and Shadow of the Colussus), but here it felt like 20 minutes worth of story happened (albeit pretty decent story) in a two hour movie.  I got what the movie was trying to say, I guess the problem was that nothing happened to make me care.

Usually I can at least see why people swoon over a movie but I can’t say I can see it with this one.

It was an ok movie, but it did nothing for me.

2 Responses to The 5 minute review: Let The Right One In (Bluray)

  1. Marc says:

    I refuse to watch this movie until it’s re-released with the proper subtitles. The subtitles on the DVD are supposedly really awful and make for a lot of ambiguity where there isn’t supposed to be any, unlike the ones that were included in theaters.

  2. John Nieves says:

    That could be part of the problem but to be honest, I don’t see it completely changing my opinion of it. It wouldn’t help the horribly slow pacing of the movie. It just felt like nothing would happen for minutes at a time.

    Researching it further, it sounds like entire story arcs were taken out that were in the book, so that could have something to do with it.

Leave a Reply

