LTTP: Persona 3 FES

 

I know I’m about…oh two years late to the party, but I’m really enjoying Persona 3 FES!  I’ve previously heard of the series through friends that played the earlier PSone Persona titles and heard good things but never found much motivation to play them.  

Hell, most of my experience with JRPG’s (and to be honest RPG’s in general) was with the Final Fantasy series.  Before I played Mass Effect, the last RPG I had played (not counting stuff like X-Men Legends and Marvel Ultimate Alliance which are more like action games) was Final Fantasy X.  

With the recommendation from Shane Bettenhausen on 1up Yours (well, when it was called 1up Yours anyway) I thought to myself that perhaps I’d pick the game up eventually.  When it was on sale on Amazon, my wife bought it for me for Christmas.  I ended up getting the FES version of the game which came with a hardcover artbook and a soundtrack CD, pretty solid.

It’s been a very long time since I’ve played an anime inspired RPG as well so I’m digging the aesthetic of the game.   The graphics still look pretty good upscaled on my PS3 in 1080p.   The main character of the game looks a bit too emo for my tastes but I’m willing to let it slide.   Then again, there is a lot to this game that can be labeled as “emo” (like the way you summon your Personas).

One thing I didn’t expect to like so much was the music.  It’s a weird mix of J-pop, Jazz, and rap that really goes well with the game.  It’s a very relaxing soundtrack and I’ve even ripped it to my iPhone so I can listen to it when I want to relax.

The gameplay is very JRPGish, but it has enough new things that keep it fresh.  Fusing your Personas to make new ones is pretty cool and the game does a good job of allowing you the chance to regain the Personas you fused together with a simple card game you play after you win each battle.

There is some level grinding that is necessary in the game, but I really don’t mind because it allows me the chance to listen to my podcasts while I grind, killing two birds with one stone FTW!

I can’t say too much about the story thus far because I’ve only hit the tip of the iceberg.  So far though, the script has a pretty good translation and the voice actors are very good and don’t come off as annoying.  The story itself has an interesting premise so far that makes me want to know the answers to the questions posed by the game’s plot.

Anyway, this really isn’t intended to be a review of the game or anything, I just wanted to let everyone know that I really enjoy the game.  Anyone that’s a fan of JRPG’s should pick this game up, it’s a no brainer.

Leave a Reply

