Watchmen: Are you watching it and why?

 

You’ve probably heard by now that this “Watchmen” move is coming out and it’s putting comic book nerds (I happen to be one) in a tizzy. Who will watch the Watchmen? I’m definitely going to go see it. I’m not going into extreme detail because I want to wait until the movie comes out, but I want to say this much;  I’m open minded enough to let the movie audition for my affections. You don’t have to be exactly like the graphic novel, just close enough to entertain me without offending me.

We’ll find out Saturday if you can pull it off.

2 Responses to Watchmen: Are you watching it and why?

  1. Marc says:

    I won’t be seeing it, as anyone who clicks on my name should be able to tell pretty quickly. 😉

    What it boils down to is that from the start, Watchmen was designed to work as a comic and not as anything else. (Alan Moore has been saying that in interviews since 1986, so it’s nothing new.) Because of that, a movie version can’t ever amount to more than the sum of the original parts – and if you can’t improve on something by adapting it into another medium, why do it at all?

  2. John Nieves says:

    I definitely respect your opinion, but have different views than you do. Yes, in a perfect world this movie probably shouldn’t exist but the reality of the situation is that it does whether we go see it or not.

    Much like any other adaptation (LotR, Harry Potter) I expect there to be concessions regarding what content the movie will have and what will be different. Since the movie is a reality I’m curious to see what they’ve done with it and how it would work as a movie.

    I don’t really know whether I will like it or not, but I’m going to try to have realistic expectations. I don’t expect it to be better than the graphic novel and I don’t expect it to be just like it either. This movie has been so heavily marketed that I wouldn’t be surprised if it makes a shit ton of money its first weekend and I think that’s part of the problem.

    Sometimes fans of something that’s niche to the outside world don’t feel the need to share it with the mainstream audience. I think a lot of people feel like Watchmen won’t be special anymore because every schmo on the street has heard of it. If that gets more people to love and appreciate the graphic novel, then perhaps the movie isn’t a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

