What games are you looking forward to in 2009?

Now that the Christmas season is over, it’s time to think about the future…or present depending on how you want to look at it.  So what games are you looking forward to in 2009?  Here is my short list:

 

 

Street Fighter IV

Street Fighter IV

Street Fighter II is one game that will always have a special place in my heart (hey that gives me an idea for a blog post!).  I can’t even begin to count the amount of hours I poured into Street Fighter II, Street Fighter II Turbo, and Super Street Fighter II on the SNES.  Some people complained that Street Fighter 3: Third Strike was too big of a departure from SFII (I disagree) and Capcom kept that in mind when they developed the fourth game in this series.  I think they’ve added just the right amount of new stuff to keep things interesting (such as focus attacks and ultra combos) while still keeping enough Street Fighter II in there to make everyone happy. 

 

 

Killzone 2

Killzone 2

This game has a lot of hype surrounding it and I’m really hoping that Guerilla Games lives up to it.  Although the game looks like any other FPS on the surface, it has a unique mix of Call-of-Duty-meets-Halo-3 gameplay, a class system, and it’s also one of the few FPS to utilize a cover system.  Based on everything I’ve read up on the game, the gameplay plays differently than most FPS’ in the genre which is a good thing.  Let’s hope the multiplayer has legs because FPS’ aren’t typically my thing, but I’m willing to give this one a shot.

 

 

inFAMOUS

inFAMOUS

There hasn’t been a huge influx of information on this game, but what I’ve seen is promising.  I’m afraid that Star Wars:  The Force Unleashed took the wind out of this game’s sails a bit with it’s force lighting powers.  It does seem like Sucker Punch has added a ton of new and innovative ways to use electricity in comparison to TFU however.  That and having the prestige of being the guys who developed the Sly Cooper series helps.  I’m hoping that the game has great platforming bits that will set the game apart from Star Wars: TFU and Prototype.

 

 

Heavy Rain

Heavy Rain

I loved Indigo Prophecy so this is a no-brainer for me.  It has already been said that the game will pull no punches and be made specifically with adults in mind.  This is another title that is still an enigma, but everything I heard makes it sound like it could be the next big thing on PS3.  Just the fact that the main character can die and the game will still go on makes for interesting possibilities.  

 

 

Bionic Commando

Bionic Commando

Just look at that guy…he has a fucking bionic arm, how badass is that?  Seriously, this game was a minor blip on my radar…until I played Bionic Commando Rearmed.  That game assured me that the developer of both games, Grin really knows what they are doing.  I’m really looking forward to playing this game.  Capcom is on a roll in 2009.

 

 

Arkham Asylum

Batman: Arkham Asylum

Not much has been seen of this game save a few screenshots but it definitely looks promising.  Using the Unreal 3 engine, Batman: Arkham Asylum looks like the first videogame Batman game taken seriously since….well, ever.  I’m really hoping this game will be as good as its potential.

 

 

Among Thieves

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves

I loved Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune so this is a sequel that is a day one purchase for me.   Naughty Dog has proven themselves time and time again to be one of the best, most consistent developers in the gaming industry.  Here’s hoping that ND lives up to their reputation with this game.  

 

Resident Evil 5

Resident Evil 5

Yes, it looks like RE4 with higher resolution graphics, but is that really bad thing?  They’ve added new features such as a new control schem that allows aim with the right analog stick and online coop.  After playing the demo, the game is great although admittedly a little too close to RE4 for its own good.   Let’s hope they were able to use the same RE4 gameplay while keeping things relatively fresh.

 

 

Loco Roco 2

Loco Roco 2

 I’ve kept this list portable-free…until now.  The original Loco Roco was a blast to play, and I’m hoping it’s sequel is just as great.  Not only that, but it was recently announced that the game will sell for $19.99, awesome!

 

 

Patapon 2

Patapon 2

 Ah, there really isn’t a whole lot of information about this game, (hell there isn’t even official box) but I’m hoping for the best.  If this game is simply simply improves on the formula set forth in the original Patapon, Sony has nothing to worry about.  

 

There you have it folks, what do you think?  Agree, disagree?  Make sure to leave your comments let us now what games your looking foarwared to in2001.

2 Responses to What games are you looking forward to in 2009?

  1. LeroyOG says:

    Hey John,
    We seem to be looking forward to a lot of the same games. RE5, Killzone 2, InFamous, Heavy Rain and Batman all look like they will fit the bill as must plays for me. I’m also pumped for the Fallout 3 and GTA DLC. Not to mention the new Call of Duty coming this fall. I know you aren’t a huge fan but you know me. 😉

  2. John Nieves says:

    I’m definitely looking forward to the Fallout 3 DLC, but the GTA IV DLC…not so much. Maybe if I go back and beat GTA IV perhaps, but that game really discouraged me to keep playing it.

    The hardest thing I’ll have to contend with regarding all this DLC is finding room on my HDD for all of it. 😦

Leave a Reply

