Ready, Set, Game’s 2008 Videogame of the Year Awards

This sort of acts as a test of sorts since this will be my first real post on my blog.   It took me a while to really narrow down what I thought were the best games 0f 2008, but somehow I managed to do so.   Being the gaming nerd that I am, I was lucky enough to play a vast majority of the big name games of this year.  So without further adieu, here are my choices for 2008 GOTY:

 

 

Best Xbox 360 Game:

This was my 2008 Game of the Year.

Fallout 3

This game probably surprised me more than any other game on this list…if only because I originally didn’t even plan on playing it.  I decided to rent it to “try it out” and ended up taking it back to Blockbuster and heading over to Gamestop to purchase it all on the same trip!  The game’s combination of RPG sensibilities with the almost overwhelming task of exploring a nuclear wasteland really set this game apart from other games in the genre as well as other games on the Xbox 360.

Honorable Mention:  Fable II

 

 

Best PS3 Game: 

LittleBig Planet

LittleBig Planet

Every year, there’s one game that feels like it’s a breath of fresh air.  Arguably, Portal was that game for 2007, and the game that gave me that same “so fresh and so clean, clean” feeling in 2008 was LittleBig Planet.  Out of all the games of 2008, LBP was one of the few I played where I literally felt the passion and creativity of the developer with every new level that I played.  Kudos to Media Molecule for knocking it out of the park on the first swing.

Honorable Mention:  Dead Space

 

 

Best Wii Game:

Brawl

Super Smash Bros.: Brawl

It was slim pickings for me on the Wii in 2008, but the game I spent the most time with this year (when my Wii wasn’t collecting dust…I kid, I kid) was Brawl.  Yes it was little more than an updated version of Super Smash Bros.: Melee, but it did what it set out to do.  An addition that I really enjoyed was the  The Subspace Emissary which is essentially Brawl’s answer to having a story mode.  Despite the crap ending, it worked very well and really extended the game’s playability in my eyes.  The only reason I didn’t choose Boom Blox over Brawl was because as much fun as I had with Boom Blox, Brawl gave me a more substantial overall experience.

Honorable Mention:  Boom Blox

 


Best PSP Game:

Patapon

Patapon

This was a tough choice for me.  Although I really enjoyed Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII, I had to give it to Patapon for being so fresh and original (not to mention cheap, $19.99 MSRP).   It has the perfect mix of RPG and music/rhythm gameplay.  Patapon is highly recommended if you haven’t played it yet.  

Honorable Mention:  Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII

 

 

Best DS Game:

Chrono Trigger

Chrono Trigger

Although my 6 year old son has had a DS for a long while now, I never really started playing it until this year.  Still, I don’t think anyone can fault me for choosing this SNES classic as my DS GOTY.  I think they added just the right amount of touches to this revision (including cutscenes from the not-as-good PSone version) to make people that have already played this game buy, play, and love it all over again.  I mean seriously, I can think of much worse games to play on the crapper?

 

 

Best Downloadable Game:

Braid

Braid

It was a close call between this and Bionic Commando: Rearmed, but I had to give it to Braid seeing as it was a completely original experience with an amazing ending.  Some of the mind bending puzzles made me want to break out a FAQ, but I can proudly say that I beat this game FAQ-free.  

Honorable Mention:  Bionic Commando: Rearmed

 

 

2008 Game of the Year:

Guns of the Patriots

Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots

There’s no other game I was looking forward to more and it not only lived up to the hype I placed on the game, but it also exceeded it in a lot of ways. Overall they retooled the MGS formula to perfection without completely taking out what the fans loved about the previous games. Kojima Productions pretty much guaranteed that I will blind buy any game that they develop from now on. Some of the threads didn’t play out the way I expected which I suppose in some ways is a good thing, but, tying all the games lingering plot threads together was a feat unto itself. This was a surprisingly difficult decision. LittleBig Planet and Fallout 3 made it really hard for me to choose but as far as videogames are concerned 2008 was the year of the Snake.

Honorable Mention:  Fallout 3

 

 

Other awards:

Best Graphics: Metal Gear Solid 4
Best Artistic Design: LitttleBig Planet, Prince of Persia (tie)
Best Action Game:  Dead Space
Best Fighting Game: Soul Calibur IV
Best Adventure Game: Tomb Raider: Underworld
Best Music Game: Rockband 2
Best Platforming Game: LittleBig Planet
Best Racing Game: Burnout Paradise
Best RPG: Fable II, Fallout 3 (tie)
Best Shooter: Gears of War 2
Best Sports: MLB 08: The Show
Best Score/Soundtrack: Metal Gear Solid 4, LittleBig Planet (tie)
Best Voice Acting: Metal Gear Solid 4
Best Story: Metal Gear Solid 4
Best Online Multiplayer Game: LittleBig Planet

10 Responses to Ready, Set, Game’s 2008 Videogame of the Year Awards

  1. T.C. Hooven says:

    *dry humps your blog*

  2. johngpr says:

    Another satisfied customer! 😛

  3. AJ says:

    Good list of games and well reasoned explanations of why you chose what you did. Is it possible though to have LBP be your fav PS3 game but MGS4 as Overall. Wouldn’t it trump it? I mean, its your awards so you can do what you want. I’m just curious.

    BTW this is vennieboy from IGN and Anzo42 on your PSN friendslist.

  4. John Nieves says:

    Thanks for commenting and checking out my little blog!

    Originally I had them as a tie for PS3 GOTY but I knew I was giving the overall GOTY to MGS4, so I figured it would be redundant to give MGS4 both. That and I wanted to give LBP some of the limelight since it was one of my favorite games of 2008.

    I’ll try to have some reviews up for Killzone 2 and Street Fighter IV when they come out so keep an eye out. 🙂

  5. Marc says:

    Did anything really good other than Super Smash Bros. even come out for Wii in 2008? I’ve heard some good things about a few smaller third-party games that were Wii-exclusive, but nothing that sounded incredibly phenomenal.

    Anyway, I enjoyed this post and I’m looking forward to seeing some of your full-scale reviews whenever you get those up. (This is Dief from IGN by the way)

  6. John Nieves says:

    Really, Boom Blox is the only other thing I can think of that came out on the Wii that would contend with Brawl. Some other games were solid (Mario Kart Wii and Animal Crossing: City Folk), but nothing that really caught my eye enough to nominate.

    Thanks for the kind words.

  7. AJ says:

    Marc,

    Although it is a Wiiware game, World of Goo is great too. Overall, the Wii had a pretty slim year however.

  8. John Nieves says:

    I heard good things about World of Goo, but have yet to try it. Worst part is that there isn’t anything on the Wii in 2009 that’s been announced that piques my interest.

  9. SS says:

    Wii’s game of 2008 for me was No More Heroes. World Of Goo follows closely. The list is solid. But wish I could play Braid. I wonder if there’s any chance of it coming to the PSN or Mac

  10. John Nieves says:

    Never say never about Braid, but it’s doubtful since it was published by Microsoft.

Leave a Reply

